Top eight favorite cover songs: Metal Edition!

Posted on July 20, 2011

0


I’ve been in a “top eight” mood for a while now, in case you haven’t noticed yet. Too much Cracked? Maybe, but an even more telling reason is that I just don’t feel like reviewing anything at the moment. So for now, enjoy my favorite cover songs, all of which happen to be related to metal…

8. Gamma Ray – Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll (Rainbow cover)


With Rainbow being considered a major inspiration to power metal, it not surprising that Gamma Ray would cover a song of theirs. This version is played a couple of keys lower than the original, which actually turns out quite well. Kai Hansen does a surprisingly good job with the vocals (he’s a hit and miss vocalist for me, but that’s a topic for another time), and the unison singing during the chorus gives the song a very fitting arena rock vibe.

7. Sleep – Snowblind (Black Sabbath cover)


A pretty faithful cover of a Sabbath classic. Not too much to say about this one, besides the fact that while I prefer this vocal performance to the original’s, I don’t like how the song fades on a guitar solo – that’s one deviation from the original that I definitely wouldn’t mind here.

6. Strapping Young Lad – Exciter (Judas Priest cover)

I truly dislike SYL, and consider Devin Townsend to be an overhyped buffoon. However, if there’s one thing in the world they can do right, it’s cover Judas Priest. I was particularly surprised by Townsend’s soaring vocals, which are far more aggressive than the original, but still maintaining all of the melody of Halford’s performance. If only the guitars had the same amount of “oomph”,  I’d probably bump this cover up a spot or two on the list. One thing I find a little questionable is how it’s supposedly a live performance, but it sounds like a studio recording. I’m not gonna complain though, because it sounds great.

5. Helloween – Fast as a Shark (Accept cover)

This time, it’s a legendary speed metal band covering a legendary speed metal song, both of which happen to be German. While this cover is lacking that unique 80’s production quality, everything else is there. Plus a thing or two that weren’t, such as an extremely loud and… crunchy bass sound.

4. Iron Horse – Master of Puppets (Metallica cover)

A very different entry on this list, as you may have already noticed from the album cover. Iron Horse has two entire Metallica tribute albums, on which the vast majority of songs are all competently covered and very enjoyable to listen to. I feel like this one is my favorite, though (with Enter Sandman very close behind). I like how the band manages to make it sound completely different while still staying recognizable, and I’m particularly fond of the harmonized vocals that pop in every once in a while.

3. Death – Painkiller (Judas Priest cover)

To this day, Death covering Judas Priest’s Painkiller is still one of the most metal things to ever happen in the history of mankind. Chuck Schuldiner’s voice is very impressive here, and I really like how the solos have been changed to sound more Death-y, while still fitting the song perfectly. The first solo is a hymn to awesome, while the final one is like a swarm of locusts coming to bring destruction upon you. The drums shine as well, and not only during the famous intro – the very end of the song is extended by an insane drum solo. Overall, there isn’t enough praise I can give this cover.

2. Ulver – Solitude (Black Sabbath cover)

I linked this song before in my top vocalists post, while talking about Garm’s vocal abilities. While that is main reason why I hold this cover in such high regard, it isn’t the only one. The western atmosphere it evokes is unique and very fitting for the song, and the art of the album that the song is included on is excellent as well. :V (I think I have another idea for a list…)

1. Cake – War Pigs (Black Sabbath cover)

This song is Cake at its cakiest – That’s the only way I can describe the band taking a classic heavy metal song to cover and improving it by including a trumpet solo. It’s heartwarming to hear them embrace the Sabbath sound and make it their own, and even more heartwarming to hear them do such a great job with it.

Posted in: Uncategorized